• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 BlackHoleSlam

BlackHoleSlam

Pro Bowl

• Members
  • 2,359 posts

Posted 23 September 2009 - 06:00 PM

The one thing all of us can say, is that we didn't follow the team because they were considered "America's Team" or because of a shelf-full of Lombardi trophies.....so clearly we must all have a story, even if it's as dull as "well I grew up in Louisiana and just always followed them". Hey, at least you've stuck with them.

I'm a lifelong resident of Louisiana, but the story isn't that straight-forward.

Time for some bad news.

When I first started watching football, at the age of 11 (this would be in 1990), I was a ....

49ers fan

(boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo)

Yes, the likes of Joe Montana, Steve Young, Jerry Rice, John Taylor, Charles Haley...etc.........along with the fact that they'd already been to 2 straight Super Bowls, made me a 49ers fan. I was a classic front-runner, you might say. But to my credit, I stayed with the 49ers even after they lost that NFC Championship game to the Giants.....all the way thru their classic battles with Dallas and Joe Montana's trade, on forward.

Time for some even worse news...

I hated the Saints during a majority of those years.

Yes, my jr. high and high school years were mostly spent rooting against the Saints. Hell, I had to. In the early 90s, the Saints were not only a division rival of the 49ers, but they were actually a legitimate threat to the 49ers's division championship hopes (especially 1991, when the Saints would win that crown). In 1992, it took a 14-2 record by the 49ers to keep the Saints off their heels ( i think the Saints went 12-4 that year?). Plus, even though I enjoy listening to him now on the "Point After", I hated Bobby Hebert as a quarterback. Pure choke artist. Even in hindsight, I'm glad I didn't root for him back then.